Filed under Uncategorized

Awards Night honors Grysiak, Evans, Hudkins and others

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

The 2017 President’s Awards Convocation was held on April 25 at 7:00 pm in the JFK Auditorium.

This annual ceremony acknowledges and rewards some of the University’s most prestigious students and faculty members. Awards are centered on academic excellence, community service, and campus involvement.

Along with honors program recognition, the Convocation featured endowed awards, which included generous monetary values that could be applied to the receiving student’s costs of education.

The night began strong with a moving speech by the 2016 Distinguished Faculty Award recipient Gale DeArmin, which included a surprise Flash Mob to the hit song “Can’t Stop the Feeling.”

“It is a heart-warming honor to know I have made such an impact on the lives of others doing something that I love,” said DeArmin.

DeArmin passed the torch to 2017 winner Ms. Amy Hudkins. Voters choose the two educators out of 10 finalist nominations.

Another vote-based SFU tradition of Mr. and Mrs. Frankie was continued, as two students, Christopher Evans and Irene Grysiak, received the title for their overall outstanding student achievement among their four years at SFU.

“I am very blessed and humbled to be Ms. Frankie 2017,” said Grysiak, with tear-filled eyes. “I will cherish this award as a compiled memory of my fondest times at SFU.”

There was a three-way tie for this year’s Saint Francis Academic Achievement Award. Equivalent to the work of six students with 152-165 credits, OT Major Eileen Shoemaker, Education Major April Taylor, and Political Science/Business Administration double Major Taylor Allyson earned this accolade.

Some other special awards also included a Congressional internship opportunity, publications in the University’s Liberal Arts magazine (Tapestries), and certification for use of portfolio enrichment.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Comment

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a gravatar.

Awards Night honors Grysiak, Evans, Hudkins and others